Pac-12 football: Our picks for postseason award winners and the all-conference team

The race for Coach of the Year came down to UW’s Kalen DeBoer and Arizona’s Jedd Fisch

On Tuesday, the Pac-12 will reveal its all-conference teams and postseason award winners for 2023. Before voting, the head coaches were allowed to wait for the outcome of the conference championship game.

We don’t see why we should wait for the official announcement.

Selections from the Hotline…

Kalen DeBoer of Washington was named Coach of the Year.

In the end, it was a simple choice. In his third season, Arizona’s Jedd Fisch transformed the Wildcats into a nine-win team. But DeBoer accomplished something no other head coach has done in the conference’s 13-year history: he won every game. Nothing beats a 13-0 score. If DeBoer does not receive the official award on Tuesday, it is because the coaches are engaging in political maneuvering.

Washington quarterback Michael Penix Jr. was named offensive player of the year.

There are numerous outstanding candidates for this award, including two receivers: Troy Franklin of Oregon and Rome Odunze of Washington. Penix, on the other hand, led his team through a November slog and emerged with a perfect record and a playoff invitation. And, along the way, he made all of the crucial throws, particularly on third and fourth down.

UCLA’s Laiatu Latu was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Latu stepped into the spotlight this season and wreaked havoc on a weekly basis. He has the most tackles for loss in the country and the most sacks among Power Five players. The Bruins have one of the best defenses in the Pac-12, and it all starts with Latu.

Arizona QB Noah Fifita was named Freshman Offensive Player of the Year.

The simplest of all calls. In late September, Fifita took over for injured starter Jayden de Laura and led the Wildcats to a 6-2 record and third-place finish. His performance was excellent, and his poise was even better.

Cal LB Cade Uluave was named Freshman Defensive Player of the Year.

We considered a number of candidates but chose Uluave for his overall impact: 6.5 tackles for loss, two interceptions, two fumbles forced, and a scoop-and-score.

Now for our all-conference picks…

The first team


QB: Washington’s Michael Penix Jr. TB: Oregon State’s Damien Martinez TB: Cal’s Jaydn Ott WR: Oregon’s Troy Franklin WR: Washington’s Rome Odunze WR: Arizona’s Tetairoa McMillan TE: Oregon’s Terrance Ferguson OL: Washington’s Troy Fautanu OL: Oregon’s Jackson Powers-Johnson OL: Oregon State’s Taliese Fuaga OL: Cal’s Brian Driscoll OL: Arizona’s Jonah Savaiinaea


DL: Utah’s Jonah Elliss DL: Oregon’s Taki Taimani DL: UCLA’s Gabriel Murphy Edge: UCLA’s Laiatu Latu LB: Arizona’s Jacob Manu LB: Oregon State’s Easton Mascarenas-Arnold DB: Colorado’s Travis Hunter DB: Washington’s Jabbar Muhammad DB: Oregon’s Khyree Jackson DB: Arizona’s Tacario Davis DB: Washington State’s Jaden Hicks


K: Stanford’s Joshua Karty P: Cal’s Lachlan Wilson Ret: USC’s Zachariah Branch

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply